Nevada drivers should know by now that Nevada state law prohibits the use of handheld cell phones while driving. You can be pulled over if a police officer or highway patrol officer catches you using the phone. Studies still show that the use of cell phones while driving continues to rise. Nevada Highway Patrol has said that unfocused driving, i.e. using your cell phone, will surpass drunk driving as the #1 cause of traffic fatalities soon.
Nevada Highway Patrol has issued over 3,700 tickets this year for violating the handheld cell phone law, which is a 67% increase from last year’s numbers. The first violation can set you back $50. By the third violation, you can be paying $250 for using your cell phone while driving.
It looks like drivers are not getting the message. A study by the National Safety Council showed that drivers talking on their cell phone caused 21% of crashes. Another 5% of crashes were caused by texting while driving.
If a person is injured as a result of driver negligence, the injured party can file a personal injury lawsuit and could receive payment for his or her injuries and damages. Driver negligence is the failure to exercise enough caution that another sensible person would exercise under the same circumstances that results in injury to another person.
A lawsuit can be a long and confusing process and someone with the knowledge of the system can be helpful in coping with the pain and suffering of a horrible accident. Contact Alessi Law, for a free consultation, if you have been injured in an accident.